NSW Waratahs Women feature prominently in the Buildcorp Wallaroos squad named


By NSW Rugby Media

After securing back to back Super W titles, 16 of the NSW Waratahs Women’s players have been named in the Buildcorp Wallaroos extended squad of 2019 announced today.

NSW Waratahs Women’s Head Coach, Matt Evrard, applauded those named in the squad and said it was well-deserved recognition after another impressive Super W season.

“I’m really happy that our leaders have been recognised along with some of our youth players, that have been rewarded their first season with a national team squad spot.

“After another strong Super W season with good performances from our players, it’s pleasing to see them recognised for their hard work,” said Evrard.

Australia will face Japan in a two-Test Series on home soil this July, before taking on New Zealand at Optus Stadium in Perth and then Eden Park in Auckland in two Trans-Tasman Double Headers.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach Dwayne Nestor said: “This is a strong extended squad after what has been a really pleasing Buildcorp Super W season.

“We saw the standard of the competition continue to grow and that has led to an improved squad of players to select from.

“This squad is about preparing not only for our biggest year on home soil but also making sure we are continuing to build a strong program for the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup.

“Players will come and go from this squad based on their form and performance so it’s vital that every player continue to work hard at training over the coming months.

“We are excited about the year ahead and we know we have a real opportunity to create some amazing history for the Buildcorp Wallaroos jersey.”

The squad was selected following the conclusion of the Buildcorp Super W season that saw NSW Waratahs Women defeat Queensland Women 8-5 in the Final at Leichhardt Oval last Sunday.

Tickets for the Japan Test Series will go on sale next Thursday 18 April.


Millie Boyle, Bond University, Queensland Women
Emily Chancellor, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Rebecca Clough, Cottesloe, Western Australia
Toa (Dora) Filimoehala*, Brothers, Queensland Women
Grace Hamilton, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Alisha Hewett, GPS, Queensland Women
Evelyn Horomia, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women
Fi Jones*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Asoiva (Eva) Karpani*, NSW Waratahs Women
Michaela Leonard, Brumbies Women
Kiri Lingman, Sunnybank, Queensland Women
Ashley Marsters, Melbourne Rebels Women
Shannon Mato*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women
Michelle Milward, Vikings, Brumbies Women
Averyl Mitchell*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women
Sera Naiqama*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Georgia O'Neill, Uni Norths, Brumbies Women
Liz Patu, Wests, Queensland Women
Emily Robinson, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Christina Sekona*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women
Ana-Lise Sio, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women
Tayla Stanford, Vikings, Brumbies Women
Violeta Tupuola, Vikings, Brumbies Women
Darryl Wickliffe, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women


Katrina Barker, Newcastle, NSW Waratahs Women
Iliseva Batibasaga, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women
Mhicca Carter, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women
Georgia Cormick*, Powerhouse, Melbourne Rebels Women
Lori Cramer*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women
Alana Elisaia*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women
Courtney Hodder*, Palmyra, Rugby WA Women
Zakiya Kereopa*, Nedlands, Western Australia
Atasi Lafai, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women
Chloe Leaupepe, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women
Crystal Maguire Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Nareta Marsters Sunnybank, Queensland Women
Cobie-Jane Morgan, Sunnybank, Queensland Women
Mahalia Murphy, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women
Asako Ono, University of Queensland, Queensland Women
Shanice Parker Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women
Trilleen Pomare Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women
Sarah Riordan, ADFRU, Queensland Women
Maya Stewart*, Newcastle Waratahs, NSW Waratahs Women
Samantha Treherne, Sunnybank, Queensland Women
Samantha Wood*, Gungahlin Eagles, Brumbies Women

*Denotes Uncapped

Buildcorp Wallaroos 2019 Fixtures

Saturday 13 July
Australia v Japan, Newcastle Sportsground Number 2, Newcastle
Friday 19 July
Australia v Japan, North Sydney Oval, Sydney
Saturday 10 August
Australia v New Zealand, Optus Stadium, Perth
Saturday 17 August
Australia v New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: