The playing group will be divided into two squads of 12 and will represent NSW I and NSW II at the competition.

Head Coach Kieran Smith said major tournaments in the last few months, including the University 7s Series as well as school and club tournaments, have helped determine the final squad.

“The selection process culminated with the State Championships in Forster a couple of weeks ago. From there, we selected a wider training squad of 45 which was then reduced to 30 after we held trials last weekend,” Smith said. 

Smith spoke of the difficulties of choosing a team of just 24 given the level of talent and depth on display.

“We now have a big emphasis on growing and developing girls in that 16, 17-year-old age bracket, and State clubs are now working hard to increase the skill of all their players, so it’s becoming quite hard to separate them,” Smith added.

“The big difference we’re seeing now is the growth in the number of football players coming through rather than just athletes. Instead of bringing in young female athletes and turning them into footballers, we now have a huge talent pool to work with which is really positive for the future of rugby sevens,” Smith said.

The Youth National Championships will run from Thursday 6 December – Sunday 9 December at Ballymore Stadium, Queensland.


NSW Girls Youth Squad:


First Name               Surname                    Club

Tylah                           Amiatu                          Blacktown

Katalina                      Amosa                         Macquarie University

Jamie                           Chapman                     Burraneer

Janalee                         Conroy                        Central West

Piper                            Duck                           Barker College

Tegan                          Dymock                      Randwick Magic

Gardinia                      Faalogo                       West Harbour

Hayley                         Hifo                             Liverpool

Tia                               Hinds                          Randwick Magic

Zali                              Hopkins                      Randwick Magic

Phoebe                        Mcloughlin                  Central North             

Lily                              Murdoch                     Illawarra

Miah                            O’Sullivan                   Central North

Faliki                           Pohiva                         Liverpool

Aroha                          Spillane                       Illawarra

Mareva                        Swann                         Burraneer

Jada                             Taylor                          Central North

Bienna                         Terita                           Randwick Magic

Viena                           Tinao                           Illawarra

Cassey                         Tohi-Hiku                   West Harbour

Litiana                         Tuifua                          Liverpool

Bronti                          Westaway                    Randwick Magic

Jakiya                          Whitfeld                      Sydney University

Louisa                         Yarranamua                 West Harbour


Wider Playing Squad:

Stella                           Casey                          Illawarra

Miah                            Enright                       Randwick Magic

Kiara                           Hawkins                      Central West

Eboney                        Prior                            Burraneer

April                            Smith                           Central North

Grace                           Tokabobo                    West Harbour

Leanne                        Toomalati                    West Harbour

Summer                       Witt                             Central West



2019 NSW Waratah memberships are on sale now. With a range of packages available, secure your membership HERE.






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: