NSW women dominate national team


By NSW Rugby Media

A total of 11 NSW women’s players were today named in the 28-strong Wallaroos squad for the upcoming international series against New Zealand.

Included in the national squad are Emily Chancellor, Melissa Fatu, Grace Hamilton, Evelyn Horomia, Fi Jones, Atasi Lafai, Crystal Maguire, Cobie-Jane Morgan, Mahalia Murphy, Shanice Parker and Emily Robinson.

The Wallaroos will play New Zealand’s Black Ferns in an historic two-Test Series, which kicks off in Sydney on 18 August as part of a blockbuster double-header also featuring the Wallabies against the All Blacks.

A week later, Australia’s men’s and women’s teams will face off against their Trans-Tasman counterparts at Eden Park in Auckland.
The NSW women’s players have been training at the David Phillips Sports Complex in Daceyville and playing for their clubs in the Jack Scott Cup women’s competition in preparation for the international season.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach, Dwayne Nestor said: “I’ve been impressed with the work rate of the squad as they have continued their training programs and putting it into action at club rugby level.
“The squad we are taking into camp is a great balance of youth and experience and one capable of playing some very good rugby in August. Having talked to every member of the squad, there is just an overwhelming sense of excitement to continue the hard work heading into that first Test in Sydney.

“Outside of their actions on the field, this squad has a real commitment to wanting to influence the next generation of players to pick up a Rugby ball and play our game.

“We saw from the 2018 Buildcorp Super W just what exciting Rugby is being played by our Women’s XVs players and now the challenge is to take it up to the next level when we represent our country.

Tickets for the historic double header of matches with the Buildcorp Wallaroos and Qantas Wallabies can be purchased through Ticketek.

2018 Buildcorp Wallaroos Squad for New Zealand Series

(* denotes uncapped player)

Mhicca Carter*, Western Australia, Cottesloe
Emily Chancellor*, NSW, Sydney University
Rebecca Clough, Western Australia, Cottesloe
Georgia Cormick*, Melbourne Rebels
Melissa Fatu*, NSW, Parramatta
Kendra Fell*, Western Australia, Palmyra
Toa Filimoehala*, Queensland, Brothers
Fenella Hake, Queensland
Grace Hamilton, NSW, Sydney University
Alisha Hewett, Queensland, GPS
Evelyn Horomia, NSW, Parramatta
Fi Jones*, NSW, Sydney University
Atasi Lafai*, NSW, Campbelltown
Kiri Lingman, Queensland, Sunnybank
Crystal Maguire*, NSW, Warringah
Michelle Milward, ACT, Tuggeranong Vikings
Cobie-Jane Morgan, NSW, Warringah
Mahalia Murphy, NSW, Campbelltown
Hana Ngaha, Queensland, Sunnybank
Georgia O’Neill*, ACT
Shanice Parker*, NSW, Warringah
Liz Patu, Queensland, Wests
Trilleen Pomare, Western Australia, Kalamunda
Sarah Riordan, Queensland, ADFR
Emily Robinson, NSW, Warringah
Alice Tonumaivao*, Melbourne Rebels
Samantha Treherne, Queensland, Sunnybank
Darryl Wickliffe*, Western Australia, Kalamunda






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: