Women take centre stage


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

The inaugural Sydney Women’s Sevens competition continues this weekend with round four at Boronia Park in Hunters Hill.

A record sixteen teams, representing Shute Shield and Suburban Rugby Clubs will do battle in one of the State’s strongest rugby communities.

The newly-formed North Cronulla Sea Lice, Eastwood and Parramatta will be playing in the competition for the first time.

NSW Rugby Female Development Officer, Caitlin Aquilina, said this was a fantastic occasion for the game.

“We started this year with ten teams in round one and have now grown to 16 for round four. It speaks volumes for the work that is happening in our clubs to grow the game.”

Aquilina said the success of the NSW Women’s team in this year’s Super W competition and the performances of the Australian Women’s Sevens team at the Commonwealth Games have boosted the profile of the game amongst girls and women.

“Players now have a clear development pathway in both Fifteens and Sevens. Competitions such as these certainly lift the profile of the game and we will continue to look at more ways to grow and development the sport,” Aquilina said.

The action all kicks off on Saturday 30 June at Boronia Park, Hunters Hill.

The teams for the Women’s Sevens competition in Hunters Hill:

Eastern Suburbs
Gordon UTS Blue
Gordon UTS Green
Hawkesbury Agricultural College
Hunters Hill
Macquarie University
North Cronulla Sea Lice
Northern Suburbs
Southern Districts
Sydney University

The Draw

DIV. /Pool Time Game Team A Team B
1A 10:20 1 Randwick Manly Mermaids
1B 10:40 3 UTS Gordon Green Southern Districts
2A 11:00 5 UTS Gordon Blue Macquarie Uni
2B 11:20 7 Northern Suburbs NC Sea Lice
1A 11:40 9 Manly Mermaids Warringah
1B 12:00 11 Southern Districts Parramatta
2A 12:20 13 UTS Gordon Blue Hunters Hill
2B 12:40 15 NC Sea Lice Eastwood
1A 13:00 17 Manly Mermaids Sydney University
1B 13:20 19 Southern Districts Eastern Suburbs
2A 13:40 21 Hawkesbury AC UTS Gordon Blue
2B 14:00 23 Northern Suburbs Eastwood

DIV. /Pool Time Game Team A Team B
1A 10:20 2 Sydney University Warringah
1B 10:40 4 Eastern Suburbs Parramatta
2A 11:00 6 Hunters Hill Hawkesbury AC
2B 11:20 8 UNSW Eastwood
1A 11:40 10 Randwick Sydney University
1B 12:00 12 Gordon UTS Green Eastern Suburbs
2A 12:20 14 Macquarie Uni Hawkesbury AC
2B 12:40 16 Northern Suburbs UNSW
1A 13:00 18 Randwick Warringah
1B 13:20 20 Gordon UTS Green Parramatta
2A 13:40 22 Macquarie Uni Hunters Hill
2B 14:00 24 NC Sea Lice UNSW

Finals to follow on from regular competition rounds from 14:20 on both fields.






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: