NSW Waratahs side named to face Crusaders


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

Photo credit: John Flitcroft/Flitty Images

NSW Waratahs Head Coach Daryl Gibson has made two changes to his starting line-up ahead of Saturday night’s round 13 clash against the Crusaders at AMI Stadium, Christchurch.

While the forwards remain untouched after their three-try haul last weekend, the backs will welcome 112 caps of Super Rugby experience in scrumhalf Nick Phipps, whose return to the fold means Jake Gordon will make his impact from the bench.

NSW Waratahs Head Coach Daryl Gibson said he will look to give each halfback opportunities throughout the next few weeks of competition.

“They’ve got lovely contrasting styles and I think that Nick’s strengths for this game are really important in the way he does speed up the game up with his fitness, and that strength will be an important factor going into this game,” Gibson said.

“We decided a couple of games ago how we are going to take our two halfbacks through this New Zealand period. I want to give both of them the opportunity to be at their best and put in a performance for the NSW Waratahs which could then put them in line for higher honours.”

The inclusion of Curtis Rona into outside centre means Lalakai Foketi moves to the bench.

Young prop Shambeckler Vui is in line to make his second appearance in the sky blue, coming in for NSW stalwart Paddy Ryan in the No.18 jersey.

The NSW Waratahs will face the Crusaders on Saturday 12 May at Christchurch’s AMI Stadium, kicking off at 5:10pm local time (3:10pm AEST). The match will be televised live on Fox Sports.

Team to play the Crusaders (number denotes number of NSW Caps):

1. Tom Robertson (36)
2. Damien Fitzpatrick (41)
3. Sekope Kepu (116)
4. Ned Hanigan (24)
5. Rob Simmons (7)
6. Will Miller (8)
7. Michael Hooper (c - 89)
8. Michael Wells (25)
9. Nick Phipps (65)
10. Bernard Foley (vc - 97)
11. Taqele Naiyaravoro (42)
12. Kurtley Beale (119)
13. Curtis Rona (9)
14. Cam Clark (16)
15. Israel Folau (81)

16. Hugh Roach (39)
17. Harry Johnson-Holmes (9)
18. Shambeckler Vui (1)
19. Tom Staniforth (9)
20. Jed Holloway (34)
21. Jake Gordon (20)
22. Lalakai Foketi (9)
23. Bryce Hegarty (23)






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: