Get ready Warren: NSW Country Champs are coming to town


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

The small town of Warren in the State’s Western Plains region will for the first time host the NSW Country Rugby Union Championships on 28-29 April.

Over 600 men and women from nine different zones will compete for the silverware in their respective divisions, including the Caldwell Cup (Tier One), the Richardson Shield (Tier Two), the Rowlands Colts Cup (Colts) and a Women’s 7’s Cup and Plate.

The nine zones that will be represented are Central Coast, Central North, Central West, Far North Coast, Illawarra, Mid North Coast, New England, Newcastle/Hunter and the Western Plains.

This will be the first time that the Western Plains zone will host the Country Rugby Championships, completing the last of a nine-year cycle of each zone hosting the competition.

A number of players in the NSW Waratahs squad hail from the NSW Country Rugby pathway, including Paddy Ryan (Tamworth), Alex Newsome (Glen Innes), Ned Hanigan (Coonamble), Tom Robertson (Dubbo), Harry Johnson-Holmes (Newcastle), Nick Palmer (Newcastle) and Matt Sandell (Mudgee).

Ryan, who celebrated his 100th appearance for NSW against the Reds in round nine of the Vodafone Super Rugby, will be at the event.


Said NSW Waratahs and NSW Rugby CEO, Andrew Hore: “NSW Country Rugby Union, in collaboration with NSW Rugby, have been working tirelessly to deliver what will be an outstanding event that celebrates all the qualities and values of our game. NSW Country Rugby is an important part of the State’s pathway and I wish all competitors the best of luck in what will be a brilliant weekend of rugby in the Western Plains."

To accommodate all the teams, the organisers have created “tent city” in Victoria Park, and in the true spirit of country rugby union, all players will be eating together at a “Bush Cook-Up”.

In 2017, the Central West Women’s team took out the Sevens competition while their male counterparts won the Rowland Colts Cup. Mid North Coast won the Division Two title, the Richardson Shield, and will this weekend play in the top competition.

Newcastle/Hunter claimed the Caldwell Cup in 2017 and will return to the same division.

All games will be played at Victoria Oval.

Teams competing in the 2018 NSW Country Rugby Championships:


Caldwell Cup
Central West
Mid North Coast

Richardson Shield
Far North Coast
Western Plains
Central Coast
NW Bushrangers

Rowland Colts Cup
Central Coast
Central West


Pool A
Central West
Central North
Central Coast
Western Plains

Pool B
Hunter Women
Mid North Coast
New England






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: