New NSW faces among extended Wallaroos squad


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

Fourteen members of the Buildcorp Super W premiership-winning NSW Women’s side have been included in the 45-strong Wallaroos extended training squad.

Each State will host their representatives in a series of satellite training programmes that are overseen by Wallaroos Head Coach Dwayne Nestor, prior to the squad coming together for a camp in August.

The NSW-based women will train out of the NSW Rugby headquarters at David Phillips Sporting Complex, Daceyville.

A number of new faces from the NSW Women’s side will join a contingent of capped Wallaroos, including the likes of forwards Melissa Fatu, Ana-Lise Sio and Fi Jones as well as backs Crystal Maguire, Shanice Parker and Atasi Lafai.

Evelyn Horomia, Emily Robinson, Ariana Kaiwai, Grace Hamilton and Victoria Latu are among the experienced Wallaroos forwards returning to international duties.

For the backs, Cobie-Jane Morgan and Chloe Leaupepe will once again unite in the halves with centre Katrina Barker also named in the squad

Outside of the NSW Women’s squad, backrower Emily Chancellor and Australian Sevens representative Mahalia Murphy have been included as part of the NSW-based training contingent.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach Dwayne Nestor said: “We have named a squad with one eye on success in 2018 and one eye on developing players for the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup.

“It’s important that we start blooding players now and getting them used to the expectations we have of players in the National Squad.

“For the squad members now is the time to lift their preparation and training, we have a historic opportunity in August and I know every squad member will be working hard towards that goal.”

Retiring from Test match Rugby this week is NSW Women’s captain Ash Hewson, who confirmed she would hang up her International boots. Hewson is the highest point scorer for the Buildcorp Wallaroos and has 21 Test caps to her name since her debut against Samoa in 2009.

“Ash has been a stalwart of Australian Rugby for a long time and been an advocate and pioneer for the Women’s game,” said Nestor.

“I would like to thank Ash for her contributions on the field to the Buildcorp Wallaroos and I know she still has a big role to play in continuing the growth of Women’s XVs.”

The Wallaroos will play in a two-match series against the New Zealand Black Ferns. Both matches will be played as double-headers at ANZ Stadium in Sydney and Edan Park in Auckland with the Wallabies and the All Blacks fixtures.

2018 Buildcorp Wallaroos Extended Squad


Wynona Baice, QLD
Peta Cox, ACT
Toa Filmoehala, QLD
Evelyn Horomia, NSW
Hana Ngaha, QLD
Emily Robinson, NSW
Violeta Tupuola, ACT

Melissa Fatu, NSW
Liz Patu, QLD
Darryl Wickliffe, WA

Millie Boyle, QLD
Alisha Hewitt, QLD
Kiri Lingman, QLD
Ana-Lise Sio, NSW
Rebecca Clough, WA

Emily Chancellor, NSW
Ariana Kaiwai, NSW
Michelle Milward, ACT
Georgia O'Neill, ACT
Kirby Sefo, QLD
Vesinia Taufa, WA
Alice Tonumaivao, WA
Fi Jones, NSW

No. 8
Grace Hamilton, NSW
Victoria Latu, NSW
Tayla Stanford, ACT


Georgia Cormick, VIC
Kendra Fell, WA
Cobie-Jane Morgan, NSW

Chloe Leaupepe, NSW
Trilleen Pomare, WA

Katrina Barker, NSW
Tui Cope, WA
Crystal Maguire, NSW
Nareta Marsters, QLD
Huia Turoa, WA

Courtney Hodder, WA
Mahalia Murphy, NSW
Zakiya Kereopa, WA
Atasi Lafai, NSW
Shanice Parker, NSW
Sarah Riordan, QLD

Mhicca King, WA
Samantha Treherne, QLD
Samantha Wood, ACT






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: