Stage set for 2018 World Deaf Rugby tournament at NSW Rugby HQ


By NSW Waratahs Media unit

The stage is now set for the 2018 World Deaf Rugby 7s tournament kicking off on Monday 23 April at the NSW Waratahs’ training base, David Phillips Sports Complex in Sydney.

Australian Deaf Rugby 7s player Dave Kearsey said emotions will be high as it’s the first time Australia has hosted the tournament in more than 15 years.

‘’To play on Aussie soil means everything to the players and there will be some watery eyes when the national anthem is played and signed.

‘’To run out in front of our friends and families will be very special as we know it means just as much to them and we'll do our best to make them proud,’’ said Kearsey.

With 180 players taking part from all corners of the world this tournament represents much more than just a game.

‘’Deaf Rugby is about inclusiveness and I love seeing deaf guys and girls from all over the world come together to not only play the game we love but to forge friendships,’’ said Kearsey.

The Aussie Men will kick off against the Warriors at 11:00am on Monday and the Aussie Women will follow at 11:40am when they take on England.

‘’England and Wales will be tough as they've been training together for a while now, but Fiji are strong in all forms of the game. We aren't expecting any easy games throughout the tournament,’’ said Kearsey.

On Friday, students from the Royal Institute for the Deaf and Blind will run onto the field ahead of the twilight Test match between Australia and Wales.

‘’The young hard of hearing kids that come to the games and shake your hand and cheer you on are amazing. It's very humbling to be able to provide inspiration to them. They are why we play,’’ said Kearsey.

Tickets to the game are just $5 for children and $10 for adults. For more information visit

Australian Men’s Deaf 7s team

Jason Boseley
Damien Boulton
Dave Brighton
Nick Brock
Mathew Cain
Kelly Dobbyn-Dodunski
Joshua Doe
Ronald Franklin
Dale Hynes
David Hoffman
Kyle Howlett
Dave Kearsey
Simote Lauti
Nicholas Marlor
Apenisa Matairavulu
David Page
Anthony Parlour
Jonah Poppe
Alex Readford
Aaron Robertson
Scott Shoesmith
Caleb Transom
Che Williamson
Coach: David Hoffman

Australian Women’s Deaf 7s team

Wing Yin Cheung
Aisha Maria Hitaua
Jamie Howell
Rona Lazo
Haley Martin
Samantha Martin
Oshin Slinn
Lauren Townsend
Beth Weller
Peter Ware
Coach: Alanna Patison

World Deaf Rugby 7s Fixtures:

Monday April 23; 10:00am – 6:00pm
Men’s and Women’s Sevens matches

Tuesday April 24; 10:00am – 4:30pm
Men’s and Women’s Sevens matches

Thursday April 26; 10:00am – 3:30pm
Men’s and Women’s Sevens matches

Friday April 27; 5:00pm – 9:00pm
Australia v Wales Test Match

BBQ and closing celebration






An error has occurred. Error Loading the Article List: