2019 Super Rugby draw confirmed


NSW Waratahs supporters are in for a blockbuster eight-match home schedule following confirmation of the draw for the 2019 Super Rugby competition.

NSW Waratahs supporters are in for a blockbuster eight-match home schedule following confirmation of the draw for the 2019 Super Rugby competition.

The NSW Waratahs will kick off the season at home against the Hurricanes in February, followed by matches against the Reds, Crusaders and Sunwolves in March. The other four home games are against the Rebels, Sharks, Jaguares and Brumbies.

Regular season matches will be played between mid-February to mid-June followed by the play-offs and Grand Final on 6 July.

The first overseas stop for the NSW Waratahs is when they take on fellow Australian conference team, the Sunwolves in week 2. Further away games follow against the Brumbies (week 5) and the Blues (week 8).

The NSW Waratahs hit the road for three consecutive away games in May when they travel to South Africa for matches against the Bulls and Lions before returning to Australia to take on the Reds in Brisbane. The team will round out the regular season with another two games at home against the Jaguares and Brumbies, and away matches against the Rebels and Highlanders.

NSW Waratahs Coach Daryl Gibson said he expects next year’s competition to be as competitive as this year’s.

“Super Rugby is the toughest domestic competition in the world and next year won’t be any different. Our fans will be in for a treat with eight home against quality opposition. The home and away derbies were very popular this year and we know that it will be the same again in 2019,” Gibson said.

With Allianz Stadium due for redevelopment later this year, NSW Waratahs CEO Andrew Hore said home venues for 2019 are still being finalised.

“We have undertaken a comprehensive consultation process with our key stakeholders, including our members, and we are working through the venue recommendations. We hope to have a decision about where we play our home games soon,” Hore said.

NSW Waratahs 2019 fixtures

16 February  Hurricanes Home
2 23 February Sunwolves Away
3 1-2 March BYE  -
4 9 March Reds Home
5 15 March Brumbies Away
6 23 March Crusaders Home
7 29 March Sunwolves Home
 8 6 April Blues Away
9 12-13 April BYE -
10 20 April Rebels Home
11 27 April Sharks Home
 12 4 May Bulls Away
13 11 May Lions  Away
14 18 May Reds Away
15 25 May Jaguares Home
16 31 May Rebels Away
17 8 June Brumbies Home
18 14 June Highlanders Away

• The play-offs are on 22 June (quarter-finals); 28 June (semi-finals) with the Grand Final on 6 July.

About the 2019 draw

Australian Conference: Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, NSW Waratahs, Sunwolves
New Zealand Conference: Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes
South African Conference: Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers, Jaguares

There is no change to the competition format in 2019, which means each team will play 16 regulation season conference matches that include eight matches within their own Conference (home and away) and four matches against teams from each of the other Conferences (home or away). Each team also has two byes.

The Finals series will also remain unchanged with each of the three Conference winners qualifying for and hosting a quarter-final. The team with the most tournament points that is not a Conference winner, regardless of Conference, will host the fourth quarter-final. This Wildcard team will be joined in the quarter-finals by the next best four Wildcards teams based on tournament points and regardless of Conference.

Due to Rugby World Cup 2019, there will be no June inbound international matches next year which means that Super Rugby will run uninterrupted for 21 weeks.